Open top menu
Eyemouth’s 72nd Herring Queen Chosen

Eyemouth’s 72nd Herring Queen Chosen

On St Andrew’s day, Miss Megan Melvin was chosen as the EHQ for 2016.  This year, seven young ladies put their applications in to be considered for the position, but the panel of people, themselves put forward by their own organisations, decided that Megan was the one for the job. As ever, the members of the panel remained anonymous to the EHQ committee until after the fact.  The most closely guarded operation in Eyemouth every year. Head of the panel this year was the Rev Andy Haddow who took over after last year’s selection. Well done Andy, you did a great job.

Megan follows in the footsteps of two people very close to her heart. Her grandmother, Barbara McRobbie, nee Barrie was crowned in 1973 and her cousin Lindsay Lough was crowned in 2001. She will be the third generation of her family to be crowned next year, something very special indeed.

The girls who have agreed to be maids this year are Georgina Allan, Georgia Dunn, Tamara McFarlane and Jodie Marshall.

Her trainbearers will be her sister Melody Melvin, Charli Scougal and Ellie-Mae Giacopazzi and her sailor boys will be her brother Ryan Melvin, Riley Kerr and Stuart Haddow.

This year’s present EHQ Roma Peakman is pictured here with Megan having their photograph taken for the Berwickshire News.

All the preparations for the Melvin family start now, so we’ll be ready for the crowning on July 16th. Dresses, shoes, tiaras, signs, floats…… here we go again !!! Best of luck Megan. Sure you’ll do grand. xxx   EP